Voting for Araria Lok Sabha seat and Assembly Constituencies of Bhabua & Jehanabad

Voting for 3 Lok Sabha bypolls in UP, Bihar to be held tomorrow

UP and Bihar bypolls being held amid changing political dynamics

Counting of votes will take place on March 14. You can say that this seat is important because it has a sizeable population of Dalit voters, the Congress has put up Shambhu Patel, banking on the popularity of former Lok Sabha speaker and Dalit leader Meira Kumar.

Around 31.25 per cent voters cast their votes in the ongoing by-poll at for the Araria Lok Sabha constituency in Bihar on Sunday till 12 noon.

It is high stake fight between the BJP-led NDA and Congress-RJD combine Araria parliamentary seat and two assembly segments - Jehanabad and Bhabua, considering that it's outcome would set the stage for the 2019 parliamentary polls.

The BJP has expressed confidence in winning the UP seats, especially the Gorakhpur Lok Sabha seat which was represented by Yogi Adityanath for 5 consecutive terms before he was appointed Chief Minister.

Meanwhile, the bypolls in Bihar are being considered as a direct battle between Chief Minister Nitish Kumar and Opposition leader Tejashwi Yadav, who has been leading the RJD's campaign since his father Lalu Prasad Yadav was jailed in a corruption case. Sources are saying that this will be the first major electoral test for Nitish Kumar who walked out of the Mahagathbandhan past year and joined hands with the BJP to form the government.

UP CM Yogi Adityanath took a dig at the new alliance, calling it a "the coming together of a mongoose and a snake when a storm brews".

Besides, complaints of EVM malfunctioning poured in from Jehanabad and Bhabua, the two Assembly constituencies where there is a straight contest between the NDA and the Grand Alliance.

BJP State president Nityanand Rai, addressing a public meeting on Friday, said that Araria would turn into "an Inter-Services Intelligence (ISI) hub if Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) wins the by-poll". Seventeen candidates are contesting on this seat. On the other hand, BJP nominated Pradeep Kumar Singh. Jahanabad and Bhabua assembly seats fell vacant due to the deaths of RJD Legislator Mundrika Yadav and BJP legislator Anand Bhushan Pandey, respectively. The total number of candidates in the fray here is 17. Mohan's main opponent is JD (U)'s Abhiram Sharma who had won the seat in the 2010 Assembly polls. In Bihar bypolls, 38 candidates were in the race for 3 constituencies.

Latest News